The European Union numbers 25 Member States: 25 different nations determined to shape their future closely together. Over a period of enlargement of 40 years, they have together built an area of peace, stability, progress and solidarity. Te European Union is a model for overcoming conflict and promoting reconciliation through close cooperation to achieve common goals while respecting national sovereignty and territorial integrity. But the EU is not focused on itself: its ambition is to share its achievements and its values with countries and nations beyond its borders.

The European Commissions is the EU's executive body.